Eighth Annual ArtPrize Awards, Powered by DTE Energy Foundation, Invites Public Participation at Community Watch Party

Musical performances, surprise appearances and $500,000 in cash prizes will be featured in live, televised event

ArtPrize, the radically open international art competition decided by public vote and expert jury, today announced the entertainment lineup and opportunities for public participation at the Eighth Annual ArtPrize Awards Ceremony, powered by DTE Energy Foundation. The ArtPrize Awards, the grand finale of the world’s largest art competition, will reveal the winners of $500,000 in cash prizes on October 7 at the historic Grand Rapids Civic Theatre.

The two-time Emmy Award Nominated ArtPrize Awards Ceremony will be broadcast live on NBC affiliate WOOD TV8, starting at 7:45 p.m. ET. Todd Herring, ArtPrize Director of Creative and Communications, and long-time River City Improv comedian, will return as host of the ceremony alongside house band, ONEFREQ. Opera Grand Rapids and others will take the stage throughout the evening for an unforgettable celebration.

“The DTE Energy Foundation is proud to sponsor the ArtPrize Awards Ceremony, which will showcase an outstanding array of artistic talent from around the globe and will shine a spotlight on Greater Michigan and all it has to offer to visitors and residents,” said Faye Nelson, vice president of DTE Energy, and board chair and president of DTE Energy Foundation.  “With more than 400,000 DTE customers in the region, we are committed to having a positive impact on the communities we serve. Our support of ArtPrize helps to promote culture and the arts and boost Michigan’s economy.”

Community Watch Party and After Party

ArtPrize-goers are invited to join the family-friendly Community Watch Party in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids at Rosa Parks Circle. It will include the city’s most popular food trucks serving up a variety of cuisine. Founders Brewing Co. will be on site featuring several of their delectable brews, including the Official Beer of ArtPrize Eight, Pale Joe. The evening will kick off at 6:30 p.m. with a live concert, programmed by WOOD TV8. A livestream of the ArtPrize Awards Ceremony at the beautiful Grand Rapids Civic Theatre will start at 7:45 p.m. After the winners are announced, Michigan’s own The Accidentals will take the stage to kick off the ArtPrize Awards After Party.

ArtPrize Passport Program

The ArtPrize Awards also marks the culmination of the inaugural ArtPrize Passport competition. Starting September 14, ArtPrize-goers are encouraged to pick up a copy of the ArtPrize Map and then visit as many of the ArtPrize Neighborhood HUBs as possible -- collecting Passport stamps along the way. Visitors who collect stamps from any five of the eight HUBs, or visitor service centers, will be entered to win prizes from ArtPrize and Founders Brewing Co. Additionally, those who collect stamps from all eight Neighborhood HUBs, as well as the exclusive ArtPrize Medallion sticker -- available only at the Founders Brewing Co. tent at the ArtPrize Awards Community Watch Party at Rosa Parks Circle -- will be entered to win a grand prize package from ArtPrize and Founders Brewing Co.

Grand Rapids Civic Theatre

Established in 1925, Civic Theatre is one of the oldest and largest Community Theatres in America. Dedicated to great art, Civic Theatre is recognized for creating theatre classics, family favorites, award-winning plays hot off Broadway, and the most comprehensive community theatre training program in the country. As a community theatre, the engagement and fostering of volunteers is and has always been at the mission’s core, engaging hundreds of volunteers on stage and behind the curtain each season. Civic Theatre is produced and supported by the community, for the community.

Civic Theatre will again offer an intimate, beautifully furnished and equipped space for nominated artists, sponsors, art fans, and special guests to gather together to celebrate and honor the winners of ArtPrize Eight. Credentialed media will be invited to the ArtPrize Awards Press Room for the opportunity to interview winning artists throughout the evening. Request media credentials.

Keep an eye on the ArtPrize social channels -- Facebook, Twitter and Instagram -- for a look back at past ArtPrize Awards ceremonies, and for a sneak peek into the 2016 event.


ArtPrize is an international art competition, open to any artist and decided by public vote. It invites artists to try out new ideas on a large and diverse population of people. It seeks to broaden the critical dialogue around contemporary art by awarding the world’s largest art prize. Two $200,000 awards are decided by public vote and expert jury, and an additional $100,000 in prizes is awarded to the top entries in each category. Registered artists and venues connect online at and agree to present the artwork for public display during the 19-day event. The public votes using mobile devices and the web to distribute their awards, while a group of international art experts determines the winners of the juried awards. ArtPrize Eight will include 1,453 entries representing 44 countries and 40 U.S. states and territories, located at 170 venues throughout Grand Rapids. ArtPrize annually attracts more than 400,000 active participants. Since its inception, individuals of all backgrounds have cast more than 2.8 million votes for public art.

ArtPrize is made possible in part through the generous support of many organizations. The Corporate Leadership sponsors include Amway, DTE Energy Foundation, Founders Brewing Company, Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University, Meijer, Michigan Economic Development Corporation, PNC Bank, Switch, West Michigan Honda Dealers, and X-Rite Pantone. Premier sponsors include Consumers Energy; CWD Real Estate Investment; Edward Jones; Haworth; Herman Miller Cares; ITC, Your Energy Superhighway; Michigan Lottery; Steelcase; and Wolverine Worldwide.

Leading Foundation Supporters include The Richard and Helen DeVos Foundation, the Daniel and Pamella DeVos Foundation, the Douglas and Maria DeVos Foundation, CDV5 Foundation, the Frey Foundation, the Peter C. and Emajean Cook Foundation, The Wege Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs.

CWD Real Estate Investment is the Official Real Estate Provider. Honda is the Official Vehicle of ArtPrize. MLive Media Group is the Official Provider of the ArtPrize Event Guide. The Rapid is the Public Transportation Partner. WOOD TV8 is the Official Broadcast Media Partner of ArtPrize.

The Dick & Betsy DeVos Family Foundation is the Founding Sponsor of ArtPrize.

About the DTE Energy Foundation

The DTE Energy Foundation is the philanthropic arm of DTE Energy, continuing the legacy of community support and involvement of its electric and natural gas utilities, which serve 2.2 million electric customers in Southeast Michigan and 1.2 million natural gas customers in Michigan. In 2015, the DTE Energy Foundation provided $15 million in grant support to nonprofits throughout the company's service territories. As one of Michigan's leading corporate citizens, DTE Energy is a force for growth and prosperity in the 450 Michigan communities it serves in a variety of ways, including philanthropy, volunteerism and economic progress.